Day 36 – SACRIFICE!

Weight:  246 (-3)
Workout:  20 minute run, 10 minute walk, 50 Deep Knee Bends, 35 pushups, circuit
Breakfast:  Grapes, carrots
Lunch:  Tri-tip steak, red pepper (raw), half orange
Dinner:  Pork Sausage (Whole Foods Market), half red pepper, tomato, ¼ orange

I made another worthwhile sacrifice today:  I gave up my beloved Coffee Mate creamer.  If there was an FBI most wanted list of ingredients that are harmful, you will find them on the Coffee Mate creamer label.  The thing is, I never used cream in my coffee until a about 10 years ago when I went on the Atkins diet.  Starbucks offers an Atkins latte that uses heavy cream instead of milk.  Wow! I couldn’t get enough of these things!  When I failed at the Atkins diet like everybody does, I had to stop using heavy cream in my coffee and switched to milk.  Another wave of self improvement made me switch to Coffee Mate thinking it was better for me.  What did I gain by this? Nothing.  I still got the fat but added all the crap like HFCS.  So, good-bye Coffee Mate.  It’s back to milk in my coffee, for now.

It is important to point out something here about the concept of “sacrifice.”  The word sacrifice is a bad word for most of us.  It was for me for a long time.  Sacrifice denotes loss, pain and the uncomfortable feeling of having to do without.  The truth is, sacrifice should be one of those things we revisit from time to time to tweak our lives for the better.  All of us have things in our lives that need to go.  Things like unhealthy habits, gossip, lying, judgmentalism, racism, and even some people in our lives.  When any of these things become so embedded in our lives that the thought of losing them registers as a sacrifice it is time for them to go.  Sacrifice is usually not a bad thing; it is usually an uncomfortable thing that simply needs to be.  For me, Coffee Mate was one of those things.  So was Patty Cahoun in the second grade.  Oh well, what doesn’t kill you just makes you stronger. Right?

Since I have been at a plateau for a week I decided to bust out yesterday with a strenuous workout and it worked.  I lost three pounds and am now at 246.  I ran 2.5 miles, did 50 deep knee bends, 35 pushups, went back to the track and power walked another mile and then hit the weights.  I am a little sore this morning but any soreness is outweighed by the results of a breakthrough.  When I break 245 I will have passed my lowest weight in over 12 years. I hope that happens this week.

End of Day 36

4 thoughts on “Day 36 – SACRIFICE!

  1. Hey Dad! Sorry it’s been awhile since I’ve posted! Things have been hectic. I’m so proud of you! You’re doing amazing work and I’m so glad you’re reaching your goals!! You are setting a great example for your family and friends, and I really admire that. Keep it up!

    I’m sorry you had to learn about the FDA. I learned about their corruption in one of my history classes just before I graduated and was super surprised. You’re told that they’re there to protect you. What you don’t usually find out is that the FDA, USDA, and a lot of other regulation groups like this are funded by the very companies that they’re suppose to regulate. The FDA is going to make more money if they can get more products by the funding companies on their shelves (which is why there is such a push for pharmaceuticals with a variety of awful side effects over natural remedies… natural remedies don’t bring in nearly as much money drugs, especially addictive ones). Thank goodness for companies like Whole Foods, though, who base what they provide on their shelves on integrity, health, and knowledge.

    Also, don’t forget to keep changing up your workout and that the scale isn’t always the best indicator of your health. By the way… have you started the picture series yet?

Leave a Reply

