Day 28 – Fat Kids, Fat Parents and The Fatheads Peddling Bad Health


 

 

Unless you are watching what you eat every day – I mean reading the labels and researching the products you buy for your family – you are probably on a high fructose diet.  As a result, you may be exposing yourself and your family to serious health problems including childhood obesity, mental disorders, diabetes, cancer and liver disease. The fact is, fructose is consumed either naturally from fruits and vegetables or through processed foods.  When consumed naturally the average person will consume about 15 grams of fructose. However, when consumed through processed foods the average person will consume over 70 grams a day causing serious insulin spikes that store fat, cause hunger, increase weight and lead to serious health problems, especially diabetes.  What is the conduit for high fructose in processed foods?  Corn syrup!

Corn syrup was invented in Japan in the 1960s and introduced in the US in 1975 as an inexpensive sweetener.  Of course, processed food producers and beverage makers jumped on it and began incorporating it into the American diet.  Since, lifestyle disease like diabetes, heart disease, and cancer have surpassed communicable diseases – including AIDS – in killing people.  The worst part about it?  No one is talking about the dangerous effects corn syrup has on our health.

Please watch this video from medical doctor and health researcher, Dr. Mercola.

Ever wonder why we have a problem with child obesity?  Here is a list of processed foods highest in corn syrup.

Capri-Sun Iced Tea
Capri-Sun Juice Drink – Fruit Punch
Capri-Sun Juice Drink – Grape
Capri-Sun Juice Drink – Lemonade
Capri-Sun Juice Drink – Mountain Cooler
Capri-Sun Juice Drink – Orange
Capri-Sun Juice Drink – Pacific Cooler
Capri-Sun Juice Drink – Red Berry……….. and all the rest of the Capri Sun Drinks
 
Coca-Cola
Pepsi
A&W Root Beer
PowerAde
Sprite
Tropicana Drinks
 
Kellogg’s Corn Flakes®
Kellogg’s Frosted Flakes®
Kellogg’s Smorz®
Kellogg’s Special K® Red Berries
Kellogg’s All-Bran® Bran Buds®
Kellogg’s All-Bran® Extra Fiber
Kellogg’s All-Bran® Original
Kellogg’s Apple Jacks®
Kellogg’s Cinnamon Crunch Crispix
Kellogg’s Cocoa Krispies®
Kellogg’s Complete® Oat Bran Flakes…… and about 20 more!

Post Cereals

Nabsico Chips Ahoy
Nabisco Fig Newtons

Yoplait Yogurts

Wheat Thins

Nutri-Grain® Cereal Bars Blueberry
Nutri-Grain® Cereal Bars Cherry
Nutri-Grain® Cereal Bars Mixed Berry….. Let’s just say all of em’

And all the Oscar Myer Lunchables

AND MANY, MANY MORE!

For adults, there are a plethora of foods manufactured with high corn syrup including some of the drinks at Starbucks, steak sauces, BBQ sauces, mustard, Pepperidge Farm breads, and so on, and so on.

All of these foods tax our bodies unnaturally and cause imbalances that affect our health in ways beyond just our weight.

I invite you to go to Dr. Mercola’s website and learn more about this food substance that can slowly kill you.

Since my last post I am seem to be stuck on 250 lbs probably because I haven’t worked out much since then.  Today I hit the rec center with a vengeance and did 25 minutes on the recumbent bike and the circuit concentrating on the upper body muscles.  For my meals I have eaten a banana and yogurt (not Yoplait) for breakfast, and pulled pork, carrots, and grapes for lunch.  For dinner I will be enjoying a light hamburger steak and fried veggie medley (in coconut oil) and wash it all down with water.

At this point I am really upset with being duped by companies who do not care about the health of their customers.  I have eaten this stuff all my life and now I cannot be sure what the effects will be on my health as I get older.  It really ticks me off!  Now I am even more determined to stick with a whole food diet and dump the processed foods.  Good riddins!

End of Day 28

4 thoughts on “Day 28 – Fat Kids, Fat Parents and The Fatheads Peddling Bad Health

    • Thanks for the comment. This is all new to me and I’m blown away by the illusion we have of what is good for us and what is not. Most of the people in my age bracket are constantly complaining about some health issue like joint pain, arthritis, high blood pressure or diabetes. Now that I am pulling back the curtain I am amazed and disturbed at the thought of how we value economics over health in our culture. I suppose I am to blame or my own ignorance. I watch TV and see the ads that tell me this or that food is healthy only to find out later in life I am stuffing myself with steroids, hormones, insecticides, high fructose corn syrup and who knows what else? Didn’t mean to roll on but like the post says, I am really kinda ticked at what I’m learning.

  1. I’m really glad to see you’re doing so much research and maintaining such a healthy diet. “Dieting” can be so simple by simplifying what you eat. Start with whole, raw foods and build from there. Good for you for doing just that and sticking with it! By the way, have you done a lower body workout on the circuit yet? Just curious.

    Keep it up!

    • Yes! I have done one so far. I am finding out where my strengths really are and are not. For instance, I use all of weight on the leg extension and can do 25 reps in three sets with no problem. Then there is the “hip abductor” that made my life flash before my eyes with only six reps. Today I am going to try to run again and so the lower body afterwards. BTW – Did you know the about dangers of high fructose corn syrup? Something really needs to be done this kind of stuff. Thanks for the encouragement! R

Leave a Reply

