Day 21 – Smoking Butt!

No one is ever sure what is going to come out of this blog.  Truth is, several of the posts have been a little off topic and a little personal.  So I’m sure when you saw the title of this one you probably debated whether to brave it or just let it be.  Well, rest easy.  This post is to illustrate the benefits of a whole food diet plan. The “butt” in the title is about the pork butt I smoked yesterday for my family.

Most of us have ventured into some fad diet like the Atkins diet or the South Beach diet only to quit in agony because we felt empty and hungry all the time.  I even tried a tomato and grapefruit diet years ago that made me feel like my brain was caving in.  Some of us have resorted to over the counter diet pills or shakes to help us reduce our hunger only to discover the only thing we lost was money.  Many of these diets can be unhealthy and dangerous especially for Type A personalities like me who want it all and want it now.  Everybody knows deep down inside these diets don’t work in the long term unless you make a lifestyle change.  So when I started getting serious about weight loss I wanted something I could live with for the rest of my life. My criteria were it had to be healthy, it could never leave me hungry, and it couldn’t cost more than my current food bill.

The whole food diet is simple, healthy, and cheap and it never leaves me hungry.  I eat meat, fish, egg, vegetables, fruit and nuts.  I do not eat anything with whole grains including breads, pastas, or anything breaded and fried.  There is no room for processed foods like cheese, hot dogs (although some brats and sausages are OK), or anything that comes in a package.  For breakfast I can have scrambled eggs and ham or a banana or a pear.  For lunch I like to fry up some veggies in coconut oil like peppers and onions with a little chicken mixed in.  And for dinner…

Click For a Better View

WOW! Yes life is good!

Yesterday my wife bought an eight pound pork butt to serve for a family dinner.  The pork butt is actually a part of the shoulder of the pig, not his posterior.   It is a wonderfully tasty cut of meat if it is cooked right.  The butt has to be cooked slowly for a long time to be perfect.  This butt was marinated over night in an apple cider marinate made from the recipe below.  The next morning Pam prepped the butt with the spice rub and glue before I loaded it in the smoker.

Ingredients

Marinade:

  • 2 cups cider vinegar
  • 1 cup corn oil
  • 1 can pineapple concentrate
  • 1/4 cup salt (non-iodized)
  • 1/8 cup paprika
  • 1/8 cup Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/8 cup white pepper
  • 1 chicken bouillon cube (dissolved in 2 tablespoons water)

Rub:

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup salt (non-iodized)
  • 1/3 cup black pepper
  • 1/4 cup paprika
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon onion powder
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon celery salt
  • 1 tablespoon hickory salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon ground sage
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Glue:

  • 2 tablespoons yellow mustard
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 pork butt (approximately 8 pounds)

(From Food Network)

I put the butt on the smoker at 9:00 AM at a temperature of 225 – 250 degrees.  The smoker is an indirect style smoker with a separate firebox.  I used Royal Oak charcoal and hickory chunks for the smoke along with an hourly dose of soaked apple wood chips.  After five hours of smoking the butt I removed it from the smoker and tightly wrapped it in Saran Wrap and aluminum foil and placed it in the oven at 275 for another four hours.  This allows the fat to render making the meat extremely moist.  After a 15 minute rest the smoking butt was served to a hungry household.

A knife never touched the smoked butt.  The meat simply fell apart when it was pulled with a fork.  The smoke flavor was outstanding and the texture was perfect.  This butt was one of the best smoked butts I have ever had.  The rest of the meal consisted of a baked sweet potato and green beans.  I ate until I was comfortably full and very satisfied.  A few hours later I went to bed and this morning I weighed in at 253 pounds.  Although I didn’t lose any weight I am completely happy with eating so well and not gaining.

The point of this post should be obvious by now.  My worldview regarding diets and dieting changed dramatically this year.  I once believed dieting meant sacrifice and having to do without.  Now I know I can eat well and still lose weight and be healthy.  In fact, I can eat very well.  I eat anything I want as long as it is meat, fish, fruit, vegetable, egg or nuts (exceptions being some spices and cooking mixtures like the mustard and apple cider for flavor).  When you can eat like this and still lose weight, life is good!

If you are trying all the fad diets give it up.  It would be cruel to think we were created to forever be at war with ourselves over our weight.  We are biological organisms that were never intended to eat what we eat today.  Since we are all natural beings we should eat all natural food.  If done right it can be healthy, satisfying and sometimes downright awesome – like yesterday’s smoking butt!.

End of Day 20

3 thoughts on “Day 21 – Smoking Butt!

  1. A quick comment on this post. We naturally want to think foods with a high fat content like pork are automatically bad for us. The fact is we need fat in our diets for organs like our brains and dietary tracts. I believe much of what causes illnesses like heart disease is an imbalance of nutrients rather than just saying fat is to blame. And, the combination of certain foods like whole grains combined with high fat foods intensify illnesses related to what doctors call a high fat diet. When meats like pork are digested within a healthy and balanced diet they are beneficial because the body processes them naturally. However, eating a meal with pork, gravy, buttered roles, creamed corn, sweet tea and a slice of cherry pie for dessert is going to bad for anyone especially if that type of meal is regular. But again, one should monitor their cholesterol and blood pressure as well as get the advice from their doctor before making this kind of decision.

  2. That was the best smoked butt I have ever tasted as well and I’m pretty sure the same for everyone else who had some because everyone went back for more and out of the 8 lbs I think you are left with 1lb if that. We must do that again and since it fits into the diet plan I think that makes it even better. You are also inspiring me to eat better myself like today for lunch I’m having ham and raw carrots and yesterday morning while you were doing your blog I actually exercised in the bedroom. Unfortunately I do not have the A type personality so I don’t usually stay as determined as you but we’ll see. Enjoy the leftovers for lunch.

Leave a Reply

