Day 17 – Reality and Illusions

What is the difference between illusion and reality?  In theory, an illusion is something that looks real but it is not.  It is a phony experience that presents itself as real.  Reality is what is real.  Sometimes we can’t perceive reality because the illusion is so distracting.  Sometimes reality is so terrifying we create an illusion to escape from it.   You can always recognize someone who lives in an illusion because they talk about what they are going to do but never change.   And you can always recognize someone who lives in reality because they achieve and talk about their what they have done.  One is defined by their words and the other is defined by their actions.

When it came to my health I was a talker living an illusion.  For the last ten years I would tell my weight doctor how I was going to start exercising and eating right.  Then, I’d go to a restaurant and order a big pasta dinner topped off with a grand slice of cheesecake.  More talk, more weight.  Over time I went from 225 pounds to 270.  Because I was always planning to do something I felt justified like I was actually doing something.  That is an illusion.  Then I stepped on the scale and decided to face reality.  Finally, this year I am becoming a doer.  Instead of talking about what I am going to do I am talking about what I’ve done.  No illusions.  Today, I weighed in at 253 pounds.  That is down 13 pounds from my official start and 17 pounds from my high of 270.  And, I have my wind back and feel really good.

Unfortunately, I did hurt my knee running so I am off the track for now.  Just a couple of weeks of healing and I should be back at it.  In the meantime, next week I’ll start on some aerobic machine.  Suggestions?

2 thoughts on “Day 17 – Reality and Illusions

  1. If you want to do aerobic machines, try the the gazelle or elliptical. They don’t put much pressure on your joints and it’s very fluid motion. If your gym has a pool, try swimming. No pressure on your joints, and it gives you an amazing work out. I also really like how therapeutic the breathing part of it can be. You really have to regulate your breaths, which at first is terrifying (I drank the pool a few times). But if you can get the hang of it, you zone out and it’s super nice. Swimming is also good for your entire body (core, back, legs, arms, you name it). Good luck!

Leave a Reply

