Day 10 – Hot Tamale!

Part of the learning process is doing the wrong thing, learning from it, and not doing it again.  Like today.  Every other week I meet my friend, Warren, for lunch  simply because we are friends. We talk about any and everything including how to solve the world’s problems and our wives.  Today we met at one of his favorite Mexican food restaurants, El Maguey, in Claremore.  It is not easy sticking to a wholefood diet in a Mexican restaurant but I noticed they had an order of 3 tamales a la cart on the menu.  Tamales should be OK since they are pulled pork in a ground corn paste and then cooked.  No whole grains.  When they arrived they were smothered with a red sauce and I love red sauce.   Remember, I am an A type personality so what does an A type personality do when tamales arrive and there is still salsa from the chips?  You got it.   I added some of my salsa on top, as well.  Very nice!

Since I had to meet another friend at 3:30 I went straight to the rec center after lunch.  I now understand why they have the siesta in Mexico.  NEVER exercise after eating three tamales smothered in red sauce and salsa.  Although I ran the entire 2 miles without stopping my stomach warmed to a burn about the third lap.  When I did my push-ups I thought my tamales were going to push up and when I did my deep knee bends… well, let’s just say I will not do that again.  I did not do the circuit today for obvious reasons but I plan to hit it hard tamale (tomorrow).  I now respect the Mexican siesta ritual and plan to incorporate it into my life.  Take my advice, don’t eat Mexican food if you plan to work out later.

My weight fell to 258!  I went to the weight doctor today and everyone there was pleasantly surprised at my strides to success.  My blood pressure was 116 over 67 and my heart rate is slow and strong.

By the way, for those who like to run with an iPod, I recommend downloading Adiemus on Songs of Sanctuary (1995)  It is a great running/exercising tune.

In my post tomorrow I will include helpful tidbits of wisdom from mt weight doctor.   If you have suffered from  joint pain you will want to read this post.

End of Day 10

5 thoughts on “Day 10 – Hot Tamale!

  1. Mexican food and exercise, yea that is an interesting combo! Good job on loosing another pound. Keep up the will power to succeed.

  2. Day 10 – Hot Tamale! | My Journey From 270 LBS to Fitness! I was suggested this website by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem. You’re amazing! Thanks! your article about Day 10 – Hot Tamale! | My Journey From 270 LBS to Fitness!Best Regards SchaadAndy

Leave a Reply

